Carlos Acosta

Premieres Plus

Wednesday 27 July - Saturday 30 July 2011
London Coliseum
St. Martin's Lane
0871 911 0200 open 24 hrs

Starring Carlos Acosta And Royal Ballet Principal Zenaida Yanowsky.

‘Sophisticated, beautifully thought-out work’ The Observer ‘A journey worth following’ Daily Telegraph

The world’s favourite dancer returns for a strictly limited run of sensational, beautiful and unforgettable work, Premieres Plus.

Now significantly enhanced and reworked from the sell-out Premieres staging in 2010, Premieres Plus features new works and collaborations with major uK and international dance stars and musicians, celebrating Carlos’s astonishing dance vision.

Premieres Plus combines his outstanding classical technique with some of the most celebrated works of recent years. The night includes Russell Maliphant’s masterpiece Two, originally created for Sylvie Guillem (‘Mesmerising’ The Guardian).


• Will Tuckett’s On Before, originally created for the Ballet Boyz’s Billy Trevett and Royal Ballet principal Zenaida Yanowsky, and now performed for the first time by Carlos and Zenaida to John Adams’s masterwork Christian Zeal & Activity

• Acosta making his solo debut in Memoria by Rambert Dance Company’s Miguel Altunaga with a score by Mexican electronica composer, Murcof

• Zenaida premieres Sirin a new work created for her by Yuri Yanowsky

A packed night of 9 major pieces including:

• Kim Brandstrup’s Footnote to Ashton from his Two Footnotes to Ashton, created for the Royal Ballet

• Simon Elliot’s Falling Deep Inside, a multimedia commission

• Edwaard Liang’s Sight Unseen and Hand Duets by George Cespedes and Carlos Acosta – a commission from George Cespedes, nominated for a 2011 Olivier Award. Score by Cuban composer Omar Puente

• Morten Lauridsen’s O Magnum Mysterium sees Zenaida and Carlos perform together with the Pegasus Choir.